FOOTBALL: Bulldogs leave 2022 on top

FOOTBALL: Bulldogs leave 2022 on top

The 2022 soccer season was one to remember for Yale’s Workforce 149.

Following their win inside the 138th Yale-Harvard Recreation which secured the Ivy League title, numerous Bulldogs earned end-of-year honors. Highlighting the group’s accomplishments, cornerback Wande Owens ’24 was named captain of Workforce 150, subsequent season’s workforce.

“I am honored and humbled to be elected captain,” Owens acknowledged to Yale Athletics. “It’s a model new net web page and a model new mission. Now we’ve got an unimaginable various to return once more and do the equivalent issue once more.

As Ivy League champions, the Bulldogs had been winners of fairly just a few awards, every nationally and inside the Ivy League. The big winners had been head coach Tony Reno and first-year working once more Joshua Pitsenberger ’26.

Reno acquired Ivy League Coach of the 12 months after tallying his third Ivy League championship victory on the helm of the Yale workforce.

Pitsenberger had an all-time rookie season inside the Bulldogs backfield. After ending fourth inside the Ivy League in dashing yards, the first yr ended the season with 4 Ivy League Rookie of the Week options and capped it off by profitable the Ivy Rookie of the 12 months. Pitsenberger was moreover chosen as one amongst 25 finalists for the 2022 Stats Perform Jerry Rice Award for the perfect first yr inside the FCS.

Pitsenberger was moreover named to the All-Ivy First Workforce, the place he was joined by 5 teammates: coronary heart and captain Nick Gargiulo ’23, offensive type out Kiran Amegadjie ’24, quarterback Nolan Grooms ’24, punter and kicker Jack Bosman ’24 and Owens.

The All-Ivy First Workforce options had been moreover joined by 4 additional Bulldogs on the Second Workforce and 9 Honorable Mentions.

Alongside together with his All-Ivy First Workforce selection, Grooms could be a finalist for the 2022 Asa S. Bushnell Cup for the Ivy League’s offensive participant of the yr. Harvard working once more Aidan Borguet is the other finalist for the award. The two confronted off inside the remaining sport of the yr, the place Grooms led the Bulldogs to a victory with 207 entire yards and a passing touchdown whereas the Yale safety restricted Borguet to a season-low 62 yards.

“I’m terribly happy with what Workforce 149 was able to accomplish this season,” Gargiulo acknowledged.

The top-of-season awards demonstrated the excellency required to be captain of the Yale soccer workforce, as every Gargiulo and Owens had been unanimous All-Ivy First Workforce options. Every avid gamers had been moreover chosen for the New England Soccer Writers Affiliation All-New England workforce.

The workforce, along with notable buddies along with Yale President Peter Salovey, honored their senior class on the Sunday after The Recreation inside the Schwarzman Center.

Sixteen workforce awards had been handed out on the event. Notably, Pitsenberger acquired the Charles Loftus Award for most likely probably the most valuable first-year participant on the workforce, tight end Garry Raymond ’23 acquired the Explicit Teams Award and defensive linemen Osorachukwu Ifesinachukwu ’23 and Reid Nickerson ’23 acquired the D-Line Award.

Nickerson moreover acquired the Edwin Foster (“Ted”) Blair Award, given to the workforce’s Most Invaluable Participant, and Ifesinachukwu was named as a finalist for the 2022 FedEx Flooring Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award, which is launched to and FCS student-athlete who excels on the sphere, inside the classroom and of their neighborhood.

As a result of the workforce now transitions into the offseason, the Bulldogs think about they will assemble on this season’s effectivity and excel inside the Ivy League as quickly as as soon as extra subsequent yr.

“We’re all contemplating very positively, we now have extreme hopes,” Sean Guyton ’25, who performs cornerback reverse Owens, acknowledged. “Now we’re merely in search of to boost on points.”

The 2022 season observed the Bulldogs win their third Ivy League championship and second outright championship of the earlier 4 seasons.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here